Office of Emergency Management

The Office of Emergency Management and Homeland Security was originally known as Civil Defense and later was updated to Disaster and Emergency Services (DES).

The office operates under the guidance of Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS) Chapter 39 and is a direct function of the Office of the Mayor and County-Judge Executive.

Office of Emergency Management Logo


The Director of Emergency Management / Homeland Security is Tommy Russell.

The Deputy Directors are Ray Kinney and Marc Wood.


Frankfort / Franklin County EMA / OHS is tasked with the following responsibilities:

  • Citizens Corps Council
  • Community Emergency Response Teams (CERT)
  • Disaster Preparedness, Planning, Response, and Mitigation
  • Emergency Operations Center (EOC)
  • Homeland Security Issues and Funding
  • Maintaining the Emergency Operations Plan (EOP)
  • Mass Notification / Outdoor Warning Sirens
  • SafePlace
  • Search and Rescue (SAR) missions
  • Task Force 14 - WMD / Haz-Mat Response Team